Baby hats

I love making baby stuff, especially out of fleece. It is so forgiving, not to mention super soft and cute. Since I have two baby showers this month, I made two little fleece hats using McCall’s M4682. I used this pattern several years ago to make a hat for my niece and it turned out surprisingly well. The first shower was for a baby girl. Since the registry had mostly items in neutral colors, I chose ivory fleece for the hat and decided to make it monochrome with ivory flowers.

IMG_8052

The pattern said to use purchased flowers, but really, flowers are pretty easy to make. I freehanded them and attached them at the center with pale pink embroidery thread.

IMG_8055

I have to admit, this is a pretty cute hat. In fact, I could only think of one thing that would make it cuter.

IMG_8061

Oh yes–ears. I drew a simple ear shape and sewed the ears into the seams. I think they are a tiny bit too far apart, but overall not bad. This one is for the first grandchild of an awesome friend. I wanted to line it with ivory fleece, which I used for the ears, but there wasn’t enough. Instead I chose a blue, ivory, and brown print that is a decent, if not perfect, match.

I meant this to be a shower gift, but the baby was just born so I need to get this in the mail soon!

These hats were lots of fun to make and the pattern is really easy to customize. They do seem a bit large, though, so I think the recipients will need to grow into them.

Leave a Reply

