Baby washcloths

My brother and sister-in-law are expecting a baby this spring, which is exciting news because it means I get to make cute things. After taking a look at their registry to see the types of things they needed, I decided to make some washcloths. Inspired by this tutorial, I decided to add a little pocket to the corner of each one. This will make them easier to hold on to when washing and give them something to hang from to dry.

IMG_6752

These were super easy. I used bright fleece for one side and plain white flannel (left over from some quilts that Jared made) for the other. I made the little pockets of the white flannel and some green seersucker left over from this little sundress. For the cloths, I cut 8-inch squares of the fleece and flannel. The pockets were 4-inch squares cut on the diagonal. I sewed each piece of seersucker to the flannel backing along the diagonal edge, turned it right-side-out, and sandwiched it between the squares. I didn’t need to use pins because the flannel and fleece stuck together nicely.

IMG_6747

I thought it would look strange to not topstitch around the pockets, so my pockets cannot be used on either side, like those in the tutorial I found. On the first two that I made–the yellow one and the pink pattern–the topstitching is a bit janky. The two later ones, both green, turned out much better, I think. Although I know these are going to be used to wipe up baby messes and don’t have to be perfect, I think I might redo the yellow one.

IMG_6750

I think these would have been better if I’d had cuter fleece or flannel, but I am really trying to use up the overwhelming amount of fabric that I have. This was a great project for using up small pieces. Now to think of what else to make…

Leave a Reply

