The lazy person’s macchiato

I love coffee, especially espresso. I have a triple espresso every morning, made in my trusty Bialetti Moka pot. I bought my current 3-cup Moka from Amazon a few years ago when I ruined the Bialetti knock-off I bought in Italy by naïvely putting it in the dishwasher. Seriously, don’t put your Moka pot in the dishwasher. In fact, don’t wash it at all. It only needs a rinse, and maybe an occasional scrub on the exterior only.

Moka updated

I have no intention of giving up my triple espresso habit, but I am trying to cut down on sugar a bit. While I generally don’t like sweetener in my coffee, I just don’t like espresso without it. I do, however, like an unsweetened macchiato, which is my standard coffee shop order. Since I do not have a milk frother and I am far too cheap and lazy to deal with the proper equipment–especially right away in the morning–I was thrilled to find this Cracked article, which includes steps to make steamed and frothed milk at home.

I already had the perfect container for preparing the milk: a cheapo frappé cup bought in Greece. This cup is designed for shaking coffee, water, and sugar to make a Greek frappé–it even has a hole for a straw. Of course, any container with a tightly-fitting lid will work.

IMG_6524

After I put the Moka on the stove, I pour a bit of milk (maybe 2-3 tablespoons) into my frappé cup and shake it vigorously until, as the article says, the volume doubles. I microwave it for about 20 seconds, until the foam starts expanding and comes to the rim of the cup. The milk and the coffee are usually done at about the same time. I add a bit of the milk to the coffee, then spoon some of the beautiful foam on top.

IMG_6527

The result is a beautiful and delicious faux espresso macchiato that is easy enough for a lazy person and much cheaper than a coffee shop. Obviously the same technique would work for a cappuccino, but I prefer less milk.

IMG_6516

Perfetto.

Leave a Reply

