Owl skirt

I have long been planning to make a skirt for my sister, so I finally got my act together and made her one for a Christmas gift. I used Simplicity 4137, an It’s So Easy pattern that was among the first I ever bought. It’s a very simple pattern for a pull-on, yoked, A-line skirt in two lengths. I’d made this skirt twice before, in the long and short versions. Here is the long version, which was the first sewing project I ever completed back in 2006. I still wear this skirt; even though it is longer than I like my skirts to be, I have never bothered to shorten it.

Skirt

I used the short version for my sister’s skirt. Since she loves owls, I chose an owl print quilting cotton. I thought it was cute but not too twee, especially with the rather subdued colors. The pattern includes a drawstring, but I personally don’t like drawstrings on my clothing–they are fiddly and can make outer layers look odd–so I used elastic instead, as I did when I made this skirt for myself.

IMG_6241

I used French seams to give it a nicer, more finished look, and I decided that it needed a lining, both to make it nicer and to make it more practical for winter wear over tights. This was my first time lining a skirt, and I really wanted to do a good job. I cut the skirt pieces from ivory satin (I have several yards of ivory satin that I got at a garage sale a few years ago), thinking it would give the skirt a nice shape. Since I wanted to avoid extra bulk at the waist, I used a thin, cream-colored lining fabric for the yoke pieces. I assembled the lining and attached it at the waist so that the fabric and lining together made the casing for the elastic.

IMG_6242

The inside actually looked pretty decent, though it needed ironing. The addition of the lining prevented the bias-cut yoke from stretching, so I hope it will fit her.

IMG_6244

Due to schedule conflicts this year, I couldn’t give it to her in person, so I’ll have to wait to see whether it worked out.

Leave a Reply

