Patron saint

An awesome friend who shares my sense of humor got me what is perhaps the best gift ever for an art historian who enjoys sewing.

IMG_6200

Yes, it is a Saint Sebastian pincushion. I love Saint Sebastian–he was very popular in the Renaissance and is the patron saint of athletes, archers, and plague victims, among others. I have already put him to use and have adopted him as patron saint of my sewing room. I have to say that I feel a little bad sticking pins into him, so I mostly use the pink base.

IMG_6208

I think his expression says it all.

He is incredibly detailed and definitely much more interesting than my old tomato pincushion.

In related news, I am making progress on gifts. I’m not quite halfway done, but I’m getting there. It is nice to have an excuse to sew again!

Leave a Reply

