Frozen pesto, herbs, and tomatoes

The growing season is drawing to an end and it is time to preserve some of my beautiful herbs. The best way I know to preserve basil is to make pesto. I took about half of the remaining basil from the garden and removed the best leaves, which gave me about three cups of basil.IMG_4368

I used the same recipe as last time, but I think I added too many pine nuts, as it turned out nuttier than before. I spooned the finished pesto into an ice cube tray and covered it with a thin layer of olive oil. I added some fresh rosemary to some of the empty slots in the tray and covered it with a generous amount of olive oil, then popped it into the freezer.

IMG_4370

The result? Beautiful cubes of frozen oil and herbs.

IMG_4383

I took them out of the tray and put them into plastic bags in the freezer. When I want pesto, I can add a cube or two to hot pasta. I’m planning to stir the rosemary cubes into roasted potatoes. I made some roasted cherry tomato cubes as well and I’m looking forward to using them in pasta. They start to melt pretty quickly, so I think adding them to dishes will be no problem. I plan to preserve more of my herbs this way–I like that the cubes are a nice serving size.

IMG_4384

Leave a Reply

