Simple tomato sauce and more

Today’s CSA share was huge and gorgeous.

IMG_4285

We have a lot of vegetables to use up, so we got started right away. This week’s share included four pounds of tomatoes. I already had a few tomatoes left over from last week in addition to the cherry tomatoes from my own garden, so I wanted to use them up quickly. I searched for an easy tomato sauce recipe using fresh tomatoes. I love the simple, fresh taste of real Italian tomato sauce and wanted something similar. I found several that I liked, but based my version most closely on this one from Lidia’s Italy.

I began by blanching and peeling four pounds of tomatoes of various types. I added 1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil to a saucepan along with 2 cups of chopped onions and a bit of garlic. After sauteing the onions and garlic for a couple of minutes, I added the tomatoes.

IMG_4290

I cooked them on medium high, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes. I added chopped basil about halfway through the cooking time when I realized I’d forgotten it, and ground in some pepper when the 20 minutes were up. It smelled and tasted quite good.

IMG_4293

I used the immersion blender to create a smoother consistency, then poured half into a jar to use this week. The other half went into the freezer to enjoy later.

IMG_4298

We didn’t actually try it out on pasta tonight because Jared made baingan bharta with this week’s six little eggplants. Roasting them on the grill gave them a wonderful flavor.

IMG_4289

The baingan bharta was a bit time-consuming to make, but it tasted wonderful.

IMG_4300

2 thoughts on “Simple tomato sauce and more

Leave a Reply

