Veggie pasta and beets

I haven’t posted about our CSA shares in a while, but we are still getting lots of vegetables. We are falling behind a bit behind, so after today’s pickup we tried to incorporate as many leftover veggies as possible into the meal. I made some tricolor penne and added chopped green and yellow beans to the boiling water after a minute or two. Meanwhile I sauteed garlic, onions, sliced mushrooms, and chard in olive oil. When the pasta and beans were finished, I drained them and added them to the sauteed vegetables along with some goat cheese and a bit of reserved pasta water. The result was pretty good, though I think it would have been better without the beans–I like them, but their texture just isn’t quite right with pasta. Jared grilled the beets and they came out nicely–soft and juicy.

IMG_4219

Today’s meal used about 1/3 of our beans, all of our remaining chard, some of our huge supply of onions and garlic, our last beet, and also two ears of corn. (I did not photograph the corn because I hate it.)

This was a very quick way to use up a few of our surplus vegetables. However, we still have lots of beans, bell peppers, potatoes, corn, and okra–I think we’ll have to get more creative.

Leave a comment