Girl’s sundress in seersucker

For my niece’s upcoming seventh birthday, I made a dress using Simplicity 3859. I immediately envisioned this in seersucker, but as always it took me forever to choose a color and a pattern. My niece is very girly and loves pink, but I’m not and I don’t, so I went with lime green. I think she’ll love the color. I chose white ribbon accents and lined the bodice in soft, white cotton.

IMG_3982

The pattern was very easy to follow and the dress went together really quickly except for the zipper. It was my first lapped zipper, and I should have hand-picked it; however I decided to use the machine and the result wasn’t great. For some reason I chose a green zipper rather than a white one, which doesn’t help matters. I thought about taking it out and hand-sewing a white zipper in its place, but I was afraid of damaging the fabric. Instead I covered the zipper tape with white seam binding, which helps a bit. It also needs a good ironing, which is why it looks a bit wavy in the photo below.

IMG_3987

I thought about making the bow detachable, but it wasn’t quite as obnoxious as I feared and the dress doesn’t look quite finished without it, so I tacked it in place. After washing and drying, however, the bow is a bit loose, so I will need to tack it in place more securely.

IMG_3986

I really like sewing things for babies and children–everything goes much more quickly. I just wish I was better at it.

Leave a Reply

