Garlic scape pesto

I had never heard of garlic scapes until we got them in our CSA share. They are the stalks and flowers of garlic plants and have a lovely garlic flavor. They are also quite aesthetically pleasing–they curl up like strange alien tentacles.

IMG_3938

I had no idea what to do with them until a Google search turned up several recipes for garlic scape pesto. I love pesto and was pleased at the thought of cooking something besides stir-fry, so I decided to give it a try. I didn’t have all of the ingredients for any of the recipes, so I sort of winged it. Most of them called for pistachios, but I found one that used almonds instead. I chopped up ten scapes and added them to the food processor along with a handful of slivered almonds and some black pepper.

IMG_3929

After everything was chopped up, I added some olive oil. I didn’t keep track of how much–I just added it until it looked pesto-like. The result was maybe a cup of pretty, bright green pesto.

IMG_3932

I tried it on some tricolor penne with some crumbled feta and a pinch of sea salt. It was really good, though quite garlicky.

IMG_3948

Easy, quick, and delicious–perfect.

Leave a Reply

