Beginning stages of a new skirt

One of my birthday gifts this year was Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing, which has been on my wishlist for a while. I love Gertie’s website and her retro aesthetic. The book contains several patterns, and I am starting with the simplest–a basic pencil skirt. I love pencil skirts and am hoping that this pattern will be perfect so I can make a lot of them.

One thing I appreciate about the book is that the patterns are sized more like ready-to-wear sizes and are based on the author’s body type, which is not rail-thin. I chose the size ten and traced the pattern pieces onto my beautiful Swedish tracing paper, which was a Christmas gift from my sister. Unfortunately, this is as far as I am right now, since we are painting the floor in the room where I sew and my sewing machine is inaccessible at the moment. Therefore, the photo below is the best I can do. I plan to make a muslin–a first for me–since I want to be certain that the fit will be correct. Gertie is a bit more pear-shaped than me, so I may have to take in the hips a little.

IMG_3834

In other news, our last CSA share was massive–lettuce, Chinese cabbage, two kinds of choy, kohlrabi, carrots, radishes, peas, green onions, garlic scapes, and a couple other things. It is only the third week and I already feel like I’m losing creativity–we’ve  been eating a lot of stir fry. My most recent meal was tofu, choy, and miso stir fry with Chinese cabbage coleslaw. Not bad.

IMG_3838

Leave a Reply

