Little creatures

One thing I love about having a yard full of plants is seeing all the creatures that visit and inhabit it. Here in the city, we don’t really see anything more exotic than the occasional raccoon, but I still enjoy watching our urban wildlife.This year we have had our first hummingbird and our first goldfinches (we have seen both in the past, but only briefly), as well as the usual birds, spiders, and insects. I have liked bugs for as long as I can remember (there was a time when I wanted to be an entomologist when I grew up) so I have a special affinity for interesting-looking creepy-crawlies. Although there are some bugs I won’t tolerate, such as mosquitoes or anything that will do major damage to my plants, I generally take a live-and-let-live approach to the invertebrate world. Here are some of my photographs of bugs from this summer.

This was definitely my favorite caterpillar find. I was quite pleased to find that it is a hummingbird moth caterpillar–hummingbird moths are so fun to watch, but I haven’t seen one in a few years. It was very tempting to keep this one, but I thought it would be best to release it.

white-lined sphinx hummingbird moth caterpillar

We always have a variety of spiders; this one wisely made its web near the porch light.

arabesque orb weaver

I think these little orange moths are really cute.

orange-wing moth

While going outside tonight to investigate a really close-sounding cicada, I found this katydid on a grape leaf. Unfortunately, I was unable to locate the cicada; I suspect that my flashlight and camera must have persuaded it to relocate.

katydid

I haven’t tried to identify this pretty little moth yet.

Leave a Reply

