Garage sale finds

I rarely go to garage sales, mainly because I simply don’t think of it but also because I rarely find anything worthwhile. Some people have an almost magical ability to find the most wonderful things at garage sales and thrift stores, but I am not one of those people. Today, however, I was with my parents (my dad, especially, is a pro garage-saler) and stopped at one. I walked away with a couple of good finds, including a small box of assorted ribbon priced at ten cents.

While the quality and condition varies, I will definitely be able to use at least some of this. I also got another box of sewing notions for a quarter. It is a pretty odd collection of stuff, including coverable buttons, fasteners, and lots of belt buckles, but I was most interested in the tailor tacker, which should be useful for both patternmaking and garment construction.

Again, I don’t know whether I will use most of this, but at twenty-five cents who could resist? I also bought six yards of ivory satin for three dollars. I really don’t know what I’m going to do with all that satin, but I’m sure inspiration will strike eventually.

Finally, I wanted to show off the new dish towels I got today, courtesy of my dad’s amazing auction skills. This is one of a full set of seven towels hand-embroidered with birds doing household chores. Here they appear to be cleaning their birdhouse. I love the cute design and the vivid colors, but I have no idea what to do with these. I’m afraid they might get dirty if I use them for their intended purpose, but I can’t think of anything else and I don’t want to just keep them in a box or cupboard. I’d love to use the embroidered portions as clothing appliqués somehow, but I don’t know if that’s possible or whether I’m willing to cut them up.

For now I will just admire these absolutely charming designs. I feel inspired to take up embroidery again.

Leave a Reply

